Login NowClose 

STA's Blanchard named All-State

The Louisiana Sports Writers Association released its Class 2A All-State team on Sunday and St. Thomas Aquinas' John Blanchard was selected to the team as a utility player.

Blanchard went 8-1 from the mound this season with a 2.83 ERA and 63 strikeouts in 63.1 innings pitched. From the plate, he batted .418 with a .557 slugging percentage with three home runs, 12 doubles, one triple and 30 RBIs.

The Falcons, a Division III semifinalist this season, also had three players named All-State honorable mention -- Sam Smith, Luke Sweeney and Parker Stewart. The Falcons ended the season 24-10 (6-3 in district play) and lost in the semifinals to Ascension Episcopal 8-6 in extra innings.

LSWA Class 2A All-State Team


Pos. player school class stats

P Justin Lawson Winnfield Sr. 8-2

P Cade Hart Calvary Baptist Jr. 12-1

P Sean Michael Brady Ascension Episcopal Sr. 9-2

P Garrett Miller Notre Dame Sr. 7-1

C Jacob Lashley Winnfield Jr. .419

IF Fox Locke Calvary Baptist Jr. .408

IF Michael Fontenot Kinder Jr. .500

IF Mason Davis Doyle Sr. .400

IF Mike Latulus Loreauville Jr. .526

OF Austin Richard Dunham Sr. .426

OF Blaine Blanchard Ascension Episcopal Sr. .423

OF Carson Barnette Calvary Baptist Sr. .387

UT Shajuan Nora Loreauville Sr. .408

UT Beau Ross Many Sr. .429

UT Andrew Yuratich Doyle So. 10-2

UT Cade Monnin Mangham Jr. 7-2

UT John Blanchard St. Thomas Aquinas Jr. 8-1

Outstanding Player: Cade Hart, Calvary Baptist

Coach of the Year: Shannon Cunningham, Calvary Baptist

Honorable mention

Patrick Boudreaux, Riverside; Brayden Spigner, Beekman Charter; Brandon Saulsberry, North Caddo; Colin Edwards, Calvary; Tanner Stewart, Lakeside; Peyton Sybrant, Episcopal; Kaleb Zimmerman, Menard, Ethan Frey, Rosepine; Sam Smith, St. Thomas Aquinas; Luke Sweeney, St. Thomas Aquinas; Luke Miller DeQuincy; Cullen Pharris, DeQuincy; Mitchell Hukins, Bunkie; Nick Slaydon, Many; Stephen Still, Dunham; Jacob Poe, Catholic-NI; Luke Rousseau, Avoyelles Charter; Austin Thiels, Menard; Carson Curtis, Many; Eli Lasyone, Winnfield; Jackson Ragusa, Avoyelles Charter; Cade Moreau, Menard; Elijah Lavan, Kinder; Collin Klein, Kinder; Braden Keen, Doyle; Tyson Stewart, Doyle; Josh Tinnerello, Winnfield; Cole Copeland, North Caddo; Jackson Boone, Dunham; Matt Abshire, Notre Dame; Josh Carroll, Many; Hunter Longino, Oakdale; C.J. Watts, Lakeside; Parker Stewart, St. Thomas Aquinas; Drake Lee, Ascension Episcopal; Parker Primeaux, Welsh; Dylan LeBlanc, Catholic-NI; Reed Godbery, Dunham.