Login Now Close 

Council reschedules meeting

by Connor Raborn reporter@hammondstar.com
The monthly meeting for Town of Amite Council has been set for 5 p.m. today after the council failed to make quorum at the regular meeting time last week.
During that meeting time, . . .

Road lighting tax is up for renewal

A proposition on ballot in southwest Tangipahoa Parish asks voters to renew a tax for a road lighting district.
The proposition on the Nov. 6 ballot is to renew the 10-mill property tax that funds Road Lighting District No. 6. . . .

Desiree Simmons


by Connor Raborn reporter@hammondstar.com
Desiree Simmons is typically a nervous flyer, but this week she'll ride an aerobatic flight in preparation for the Hammond airshow.
Aeroshell Aerobatic Team, four pilots flying in the . . .

2 arrests made in automobile theft


Jaran Adams, 17, of Hammond, and a 16-year-old juvenile Hammond resident have been arrested by Tangipahoa Parish Sheriff's Office in alleged connection with an automobile burglary and theft.
An early model Honda Ridgeline truck . . .

School board to meet Monday

Tangipahoa Parish School Board will meet Monday evening rather than Tuesday.
The board agreed to reschedule its meeting since there will be a panel discussion Tuesday at Southeastern Louisiana University on "Creating a Market . . .

Autumn Wonderland

Photo by Connor Raborn

ASSEMBLY LINE -- Latrika Smith passes a pumpkin to the next person in line at Grace Memorial Episcopal Church in Hammond Saturday morning as her fellow volunteers unload the 18-wheeler filled with over 1,200 pumpkins.

by Connor Raborn reporter@hammondstar.com
Zoey Willis of Baker couldn't contain her excitement for Halloween while running through the Grace Memorial Episcopal Church pumpkin patch.
Her parents, Michael and Rachel Willis, had . . .

Free Book Festival

Photo by Connor Raborn

FREE BOOK FESTIVAL -- Shelby, Logan and Barbara Matthews and Adele Shelton of Tickfaw browse the selection of free children's books at Hammond Branch Library Saturday morning during the annual Free Book Festival.

by Connor Raborn reporter@hammondstar.com
Families walking into Hammond Library's Free Book Festival Saturday first saw a table of free books. A closer look and a walk out the back door revealed the second half of the event's . . .

Parish to use consultant on subdivision regulations

By LAUREN LANGLOIS staffwriter@hammondstar.com
Tangipahoa Parish Council's development regulations committee will use John Dardis as a consultant as it works on recommending new regulations to manage the parish's residential . . .

Unanimous juries issue

By LAUREN LANGLOIS staffwriter@hammondstar.com
A person in Louisiana can be convicted of murder even when two jurors have doubts about the defendant's guilt.
This fact should concern all Louisianans as non-unanimous decisions in . . .

Firefighters judge chili cook-off

Photo by Connor Raborn

CHILI CHAMPS -- Registered nurses Heather Bourgeois-Kent and Dana Phillpott from Audubon Home Health in Baton Rouge serve their first-place-winning chili at Hammond Nursing Home's annual chili cook-off Friday. Bourgeois-Kent's secret ingredient? "Don't forget the sour cream and cheese," she said.

by Connor Raborn reporter@hammondstar.com
Hammond firefighters responded to a less urgent yet tasty call Friday morning when they judged the annual Hammond Nursing Home chili cook-off.
One wall of the dining area was filled with . . .

Halloween at the Square

Photo by Connor Raborn

HALLOWEEN WONDERLAND -- Dressed as Alice, the Cheshire Cat and the Queen of Hearts, Madyson Smith of Ponchatoula and her cousins Peyton and Audrey McCarroll of Madisonville examine their trick or treat buckets after their first few stops during Halloween at Hammond Square Friday night.

by Connor Raborn reporter@hammondstar.com
Around 3,000 parents and children walked around Hammond Square Friday night to get more than 25,000 pieces of candy at the fifth annual trick-or-treat event, Halloween at Hammond . . .

Stephani Sparacello

Stephani Sparacello

Her name is Stephani. Her name is not "Little Sam" or "Sam's Little Sister."
That's the mantra of Stephani Sparacello of Hammond, who is a proud part of her firefighter family. However, she does hope that when people see her they . . .

Flood wall at port expected to wrap up soon

By LAUREN LANGLOIS staffwriter@hammondstar.com
South Tangipahoa Parish Port Commission is aiming to have its flood wall project finished by the end of next week, Port Manchac Director Pat Dufresne said Tuesday.
The project . . .

Tourism bureau gathering data for long-term strategy

By LAUREN LANGLOIS staffwriter@hammondstar.com
Tangipahoa Parish Convention and Visitors Bureau is surveying a cross section of people, locals and visitors alike, to create a long-term strategic plan for increasing tourism in the . . .

Evidence building needs emergency repairs to secure it

By LAUREN LANGLOIS staffwriter@hammondstar.com
Emergency repairs are needed to secure the police department's evidence building, the Hammond City Council heard Tuesday.
The repairs will cost $57,600. The council agreed to hire . . .

Church's pumpkin patch needs volunteers

Grace Memorial Episcopal's annual pumpkin patch will arrive at 9 a.m. Saturday, roughly 1,000 pumpkins strong.
Volunteers are needed to help unload the autumn staples, said Paul Bartow, who is spearheading the project. Grace . . .

Fire Prevention Week

Photo by Connor Raborn

FIRETRUCK TOUR -- Greenville Park Leadership Academy pre-kindergartners Everyelle Woolridge, Zion Bennett, Jerkerria Carter and Landan Self tour Hammond Fire Department's newest fire engine, E-11, Thursday during a Fire Prevention Week demonstration at the school.

by Connor Raborn reporter@hammondstar.com
Greenville Park Leadership Academy kindergartners climbed through a fire truck, saw extinguishing tools Thursday and met a firefighter in full turnout gear.
The school invited . . .

Airshow buildup picks up speed

By LAUREN LANGLOIS staffwriter@hammondstar.com
Planners behind the Hammond Northshore Regional Airshow are propelling fast to get ready for next weekend's aviation celebration.
Determined to have a triumphant return of the . . .

Fostering Her Talent

Photo by Connor Raborn

NATIONAL MERIT -- St. Thomas Aquinas senior Rachael White stands in front of her school and stands on the verge of potentially being named a finalist for the prestigious National Merit Scholarship. She plans to major in medical physics, possibly at University of Chicago.

by Connor Raborn reporter@hammondstar.com
Rachael White prepared the few weeks leading up to the PSAT to see how well she could do, not expecting to progress into consideration for the National Merit Scholarship.
Last month, . . .

Death at Fluker Crossing

Photo courtesy of Wanda McCoy

DAMAGE -- The front of an Amtrak's engine is damaged after hitting an 18-wheeler about 2 p.m. Wednesday at the Fluker crossing across from Kent Enterprise. The driver of the 18-wheeler perished in the wreck. According to the Tangiphoa Parish Sheriff's Office the Amtrak was carrying 98 passengers at the time and minor injuries were reported. Sheriff's Office spokeswoman Dawn Panepinto said other facts surrounding the investigation will be released as they become available. Fluker is between Amite and Kentwood in northern Tangipahoa Parish.